These are the list of available UAB courses/tutorials. Each of the two series have links to videos online.

SERIES 1

NIGMS-Funded Short Courses

Location: Ryals Public Health Building, Room 107

Date

Monday 7/11/16 – Friday 7/15/16

Courses

6th Short Course on Statistical Genetics and Genomics

Link

Monday 7/27/15 – Friday 7/31/15

5th Short Course on Statistical Genetics and Genomics

Monday 7/7/14 – Friday 7/11/14

4th Short Course on Statistical Genetics and Genomics

Monday 7/8/13 – Friday 7/12/13

3rd Short Course on Statistical Genetics and Genomics

Mon 7/9/2012 - Fri 7/13/2012

2nd Short Course on Statistical Genetics and Genomics

Mon 7/18/2011 - Fri 7/22/2011

1st Short Course on Statistical Genetics and Genomics

SERIES 2

SHORT COURSES FUNDED BY THE NATIONAL HUMAN GENOME RESEARCH INSTITUTE (NHGRI)

Location: Ryals Public Health Building, Room 107

 

Date

Mon 12/12/16 – Thurs 12/15/16

Courses

6th Short Course on Next-Generation Sequencing: Technology and Statistical Methods

Link

Mon 12/14/15 – Thurs 12/17/15

5th Short Course on Next-Generation Sequencing: Technology and Statistical Methods

Mon 12/15/14 – Thurs 12/18/14

4th Short Course on Next-Generation Sequencing: Technology and Statistical Methods

Mon 12/16/13 – Thurs 12/19/13

3rd Short Course on Next-Generation Sequencing: Technology and Statistical Methods

Mon 12/10/12 - Thurs 12/13/12

2nd Short Course on Next-Generation Sequencing: Technology and Statistical Methods

Tue 12/13/2011 - Fri 12/16/2011

1st Short Course on Next-Generation Sequencing: Technology and Statistical Methods

These are some other courses which we have in UAB.

BST 775. Statistical Methods for Genetic Analysis I.

This course will provide a statistical basis for describing variation in qualitative (disease) and quantitative traits.  This will include decomposition of trait variation into components representing genes, environment and gene-environment interaction.  Resemblance between relatives and heritability will be described.  Important topics of discussion will include oligogenic and polygenic traits, complex segregations analysis, methods of mapping and characterizing simple and complex trait loci. Prerequisites: BST 623, BST 632, and BST 675.  It is assumed that students are comfortable with regression theory, covariance, correlation, and likelihood theory.  Interested students are urged to contact the instructors with concerns regarding assumed knowledge.  Fall (odd years).

BST 676. Statistical Bioinformatics. - The purpose of this class will be to teach graduate students statistics methods that underlie the analysis of data generated by high throughput genomic technologies, as well as issues in the experimental design and implementation of these technologies.  High throughput technologies that will be covered include microarrays, proteomics, and second generation sequencing.  Prerequisites:  BST 611 or 621.  BST 675 recommended. 3 hours. Spring (odd years).

GBS 720 Genome Structure and Function

GBS 722 GGS Bioinformatics

GBS 723 Model Systems for Genetic and Epigenetic Analysis